RSS

ReBlog: An Update on the Gay Debate: evolving ideas, untidy stories, and hopes for the church

14 Jul

Julie Rodgers

I was a senior in high school the first time I shared my story on a stage. The ex-gay ministry I had been attending for 8 months asked if I would be willing to share about the Lord’s work in my life, and I was honored. That was the beginning of what has now turned into twelve years of speaking publicly about some version of being gay and Christian. There were several motivating factors for me entering into the public conversation back in the day: one was that I wanted to be accepted by my community—I wanted to be the good kind of gay. The other reason was that I wanted to do right by the gay youth silently suffering in the pews. I wanted them to know Jesus loved them and they didn’t have to go it alone.

Twelve years later, I care a little less about approval and…

View original post 1,122 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
