RSS

A Bit Weird

28 Mar

My copy of Jeff Chu’s new book arrived yesterday and I just had a chance to read the chapter that tells my story.  I have to tell you, it is a bit weird to read your story in a book like that.

Jeff did a great job telling the story. It is accurate, and he demonstrates a lot of insight in how he tells the story.

Reading it was hard. Much of it covers a part of my life that I am not proud of.  It really looks at one of the lowest times in my life.  This is no hero story.  Not by a long shot.

But it is my story.  It is a real story.

I am also glad that my chapter is in the book. I lived for 17 years with a very big lie.  Hiding was a soul-killing experience.  So much so that I ended up in a total train wreck.  I survived… and today I would say I have thrived — relationally, spiritually, and just about every way that you could.  But 17 years is a long time to live with a lie.  That is why I have embraced a discipline of transparency.

This chapter is a very open, raw, real look inside a very private window.  Having it out there makes me feel vulnerable.  It means I can’t side-step what happened or try and spin it away.

And that is a good thing.

A lot has changed in the two years since Jeff interviewed me.  And a lot has changed over the past four years as well.

I will blog more about how things have changed and where I am at today over the next few weeks — but for now, I hope you read the (whole) book… and let me know what you think.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “A Bit Weird

  1. pastornancy

    March 28, 2013 at 2:08 am

    I read my copy yesterday as well. I admire your transparency. The truth not only sets you free but the reader as well. I, too, thought about how much has changed since he interviewed you. I also thought he is a fabulous writer! I can’t wait to read the rest of the book now.

    I thought your board chair was a little rough on your preaching (!), but dead-on with vision and leadership.

    Like

     
    • Ben Dubow

      March 28, 2013 at 2:18 am

      Thanks Nancy… and lol, I agree. But Tom has always been a tough critic, haha.

      BTW, you and RFC come across great!

      I too am looking forward to reading the whole thing.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
