RSS

Willow Creek Rejects Exodus International

22 Jul

Pace-setting mega-church Willow Creek, led by Bill Hybels, has publicly and fully disaffiliated themselves from any partnership or support for Exodus International, the leading “ex gay” ministry in the world.

Christianity Today reports on the development here. Apparently, this has been in the works for a long time but now it is official and public.

Exodus International’s missional emphasis has been around advocating for and practicing reparative therapy.  The primary goal of reparative therapy is change of orientation; when orientation change is not possible, the focus becomes more on behaviors.

As Willow Creek has made clear, this decision comes not as a move to isolate the LGBT community — both within the church and within the community — but rather to more effectively engage them.

I don’t think this necessarily represents a theological shift by Willow Creek, but rather a rejection of the one-size-fits-all answer that Exodus International offers.  Additionally, I think this brings Willow in line with the vast majority who view reparative therapy (not to be confused with SORT therapy or other models) as ineffective and possibly harmful.

I don’t know where this will lead, but if anyone was asking me for advice (no one is) I would argue that the goal for churches should be to help people integrate their sexuality with the rest of their lives, including their spirituality and religious conviction.  Integration comes from the root integer and means “whole”.  The goal should be to help people be “whole”.  A first critical step to wholeness is openness and honesty — which means that people need to be “out” within their church community in order to seek wholeness.  

I have argued before that I think that both Side A and Side B are valid answers for LGBT Christians.  My conviction is that each individual needs to come to their own conclusion in the context of their relationship with Jesus… but no matter which answer, integration of faith and sexuality is critical.  (It is also critical for heterosexuals too, by the way.)

So what are your thoughts on either Willow Creeks decision or the idea of integration?  Let me know…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Willow Creek Rejects Exodus International

  1. Michael

    July 24, 2011 at 2:25 am

    I am not sure how I feel about Willow all around… So i will just leave that one alone… As far as ministering to the homosexual community goes I am by no means an expert and would never claim to be… I do think their sin is no worse than anyone else sin or any more detestable than my own sins… And I certainly am grateful for those truly trying to love and help homosexual’s with their sin issue as I am just as grateful for those who help me with my sin issues… I am not sure what to say about what therapy system is most pragmatic or seems to be the best as I said I am not an expert here… I believe the thing that we as Christ-Followers must hold onto when we are helping people with any sin issue, is first and foremost keeping it a sin issue, and then secondly walking in true repentance dealing with it, even it we spend the rest of our lives battling it, and in some cases, and with some sin issues we will…. but one quote I am fond of in regards to my own struggles and my own battles with my own sins is: "Sin forsaken is one of the best evidences of sin forgiven." ~ J.C. RyleSorry I could not offer more help or dialog in terms of which one of these therapy’s or on Exodus international and Willow, but I thought I would share and try and contribute something anyways…

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
