RSS

Church Planting, Again

14 Jun

I love the church… the Bride of Christ.  She ain’t perfect, but she is beautiful to behold — in all her brokenness, flaws and weakness. After all these years, I am still a church guy. I believe that Jesus working through His church is the hope of the world.

That is why I believe that there is nothing more exciting, powerful, transformative or cataclysmic than a local church living up to its full redemptive potential.

Likewise, I find few things more tragic than a church that not only fails to live up to its full redemptive potential, but that has become self-satisfied enough to simply be okay with that fact.

So I am a church guy… and passionate about church planting.

Some will say that we already have too many (or enough) churches, so why do we need more?  My answer is simple: we don’t have enough GREAT CHURCHES. And that is what I am passionate about.  I believe that Tim Keller is correct when he says that most of the great innovation in the worldwide church today is coming through church plants and church planting churches.

Church planting is hard. Not everyone can do it.  In fact, I think it is far harder than almost anyone realizes.  It is particularly dificult here in New England. That is why I have such respect for church planters and what they are doing.  They are my heroes.

During my ongoing discernment process, one of the things I realized is that I cannot escape my call to the church and to church planting.  It is part of who I am.

As I discerned and prayed, I also started to dream and envision what a new church plant in the Manchester, CT area would look like.  I started drawing up a plan, a strategy, sharing the vision with some folks.  I am pretty excited about the plan/mission/concept.  It gets me excited.

One of the reasons that I got involved with the team planting a church in Storrs, CT in 2004 was because there were no churches in the area getting it done — especially when it came to college students, young professionals and those outside the church.  

So that is the question I had to ask about Manchester.  The truth is that there are a handful of really good churches in Manchester already, but none that are hittting it out of the park in terms of young professionals, being truly missional, reaching the lost, lonely and least.  But then as I prayed, God reminded me that ten minutes down the road in Hartford are two such church plants — Riverfront Family Church and Redeemer Hill.  

Eventhough they are in a different city, for young professionals that is not as big a deal.

So part of what I realized in this process is that I am called to church planting, called to invest in church planting… and that I am already part of a church plant, since I was attending Riverfront Family Church.  Since then, I have become a member of the church and will be serving on its Board as well as doing some ocassional preaching.  I am excited to fully invest in this exciting work of God in the greater Hartford area!

My heart for church planting has never been based on me being the lead person in charge.  It is about being faithful to the Great Commission and the Great Commandment. I believe that RFC is a church that has a great committment to the great commandment and the great commission!

Does that mean I will never lead a church plant or church planting church again?  No.  In fact, I think that it is likely that I will.  In Manchester?  Certainly possibly.

But for now, I am going to use my gifts and experience in church planting to invest in the work of Riverfront Family Church — and I am excited to be invested there and invested in church planting in New England.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
