RSS

Quietly Waiting & Listening

07 Jun

I posted on the blog last week about sex-trafficking and sex-slavery here in Connecticut. ?You can read my thoughts here.

God has not let my heart be settled in the two weeks since I first read that article from Vanity Fair.

I have been talking to some folks who have experience in this area, made some connections via twitter, Facebook and the blog, and am continuing to simply listen and pray.

I am waiting for God's directive and clear voice. ?And waiting for more people to say "enough is enough, I am willing to do something about this."

The problem is urgent. ?There are children (!) suffering today (!) right here in our neighborhood (!) as sex slaves (!).

But I wait patiently for the Lord to lead. I wait patiently, listening… feeding my holy discontent…?

It is urgent, but I am not naive. ?The problem is huge. To get involved will mean getting dirty. ?There are dangers and risks and issues to address. ?Jesus teaches us that only a fool goes to war without first counting the cost.

I have been meditating on this passage for a few days now… Luke 14:25-35

Large crowds were traveling with Jesus, and turning to them he said: ?If anyone comes to me and does not hate father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters?yes, even their own life?such a person cannot be my disciple. And whoever does not carry their cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.?
?Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Won?t you first sit down and estimate the cost to see if you have enough money to complete it? For if you lay the foundation and are not able to finish it, everyone who sees it will ridicule you, saying, ?This person began to build and wasn?t able to finish.??
??Or suppose a king is about to go to war against another king. Won?t he first sit down and consider whether he is able with ten thousand men to oppose the one coming against him with twenty thousand? If he is not able, he will send a delegation while the other is still a long way off and will ask for terms of peace. In the same way, those of you who do not give up everything you have cannot be my disciples.
?Salt is good, but if it loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? ?It is fit neither for the soil nor for the manure pile; it is thrown out.
??Whoever has ears to hear, let them hear.?

Whoever has ears to hear, let them hear!
 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Quietly Waiting & Listening

  1. Ben Dubow

    June 8, 2011 at 1:37 am

    Thanks Kris… definitely!<div><br></div><div>I have been emailing with a guy who is doing some pretty serious frontline ministry in this area… will keep you posted.</div><div><br></div><div>BD<br><br></div>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
