RSS

Furtick v. Chandler

06 Apr

Check out this video clip from a recent conference and let me know what you think…

For the record, I like and respect both these guys… though both are more conservative theologically than I am. I get what Chandler is saying, but am sympathetic to Furtick and at the end of the day am probably more in his camp. I don’t buy the idea that Sunday sermons are the only (or best) place to teach on doctrine. I believe this can happen more effectively through discipleship classes, small groups, etc.  I also believe that mature Christians can read books on doctrine and need to take some responsibility for self-learning.  On the other hand, I think some basic doctrinal teaching can be helpful to seekers and non-believers.  For example, I remember doing a 5-week series on the Bible that included both practical tips on how to engage it, but also the doctrine of scripture. Another example were several series on prayer where we explored the practicality fo prayer, but also a theology of prayer. But I don’t think deep doctrinal teaching is necessary (or even a good idea) on Sunday mornings…

 

Chandler and Furtick from Harvest Bible Chapel on Vimeo.

THOUGHTS?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Furtick v. Chandler

  1. John

    April 9, 2011 at 2:17 am

    I don’t know which one is Chandler and which one if Furtick. They don’t talk to each other using their names. I watched it four times. I must be missing it. The guy in the black jacket is very handsome. He might make a good talk show host or model. I wonder who he is trying to impress by preaching. I don’t like angry. Maybe I would if I thought god is angry. Give me theology to confuse me so I don’t have to do this or that? We don’t have to do anything anyway. That’s the Gospel. Why doesn’t he teach that? Then maybe they might choose to do something for the betterment of their neighbor or wife.

    Like

     

Leave a comment