RSS

I Preached Against homosexuality, But I Was Wrong – (via Salon.com)

29 Mar

A recent poll shows a huge shift in American attitudes toward gay marriage, from a 32 percent approval in 2004 to 53 percent today.

I am one of those people who changed their minds.

In 1989 when I was ordained as a minister to serve a small church in North Carolina, homosexuality was an invisible issue. Gay rights were barely on the radar of mainstream churches. The idea of an openly gay pastor was beyond the pale. ? I knew there were “gay churches,” of course, but I did not believe one could be a practicing homosexual and a Christian. The Bible was straightforward on this issue. It all seemed incredibly obvious to me.

But over the next five years, homosexuality not only became an issue — it became The Issue. Sides were drawn, and those of us in the middle were pulled to either end. I was a biblical Christian, of the “hate the sin, love the sinner” crowd. And so it seemed clear that I could not fully accept, ordain and marry gays. If I was going to be forced to choose a side, that was mine.

The truth is, I was put out that this was an issue. Feeding the hungry, preaching the gospel, comforting the afflicted, standing up to racial intolerance — these were the struggles I signed up for, not determining the morality of what adults did in their bedrooms.

But the debate would not go away. It came up, again and again, year after year, pushed by activists on either end. Each time, I grudgingly voted to hold the traditional line and limit the role of gays in the church. But I felt increasingly uncomfortable.

I thought this a really interesting article… click on the link above to finish reading it. Then come back here and let me know what you think.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I Preached Against homosexuality, But I Was Wrong – (via Salon.com)

  1. Kim Aliczi

    March 29, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    I think his article is well written because it is exactly what he is feeling, it charts his journey on what it means to be a Christ follower and truly love our neighbors. He is obviously still struggling with the issue, but has decided to leap off the side of the fence that affirms gay marriage and embraces gay clergy. I hope that he is eventually able to articulate a stronger argument for his decision than the standard lumping of homosexuality in with a bunch of other sins that are common to everyone – gossip, pride, divorce, etc. His story and journey are very similar to mine, and not too long ago I was using those same arguments – and I can tell you from experience they are not particularly effective.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
