RSS

Anti-Gay?

06 Jan

Antigayprotesters-wockner3-thumb

This is a post that has been on my heart for a while.  I haven’t written it because I think it will come across as more negative than I intend it to be.  But I think it needs to be said… so here goes…

Here is what I hear a lot from people who hold a theology that rejects homosexuality: WE AREN’T ANTI-GAY.

And they often read my critiques of the traditionalist church as saying that they are anti-gay.

So, the question is, is a an anti-gay theology make someone anti-gay?

Here is what I would say…

If your position is that LGBT folks are not fully welcomed in your church as fellow brothers and sisters in Christ (assuming they are believers), encouraged to use their spiritual gifts, fully part of the community (including membership, leadership, etc.) — then YES, I THINK YOU ARE ANTI-GAY.

I think this is common sense.  And if what you say and think about gay people is true, you should be willing to stand up and say “I am anti-gay people.”

The issue is not whether you are anti-gay…

Your argument is pretty much something like this: “I am anti-gay because God is anti-gay (therefore, it is justified)”.  Or, perhaps, “my anti-gay position is theologically justified.”

I just wish people would be honest about this.

The real debate is not whether your position is anti-gay (it is) but rather is that position consistent with the heart of God?  That is the important discussion.

Obviously, I have concluded that God is not anti-gay people.  But many others conclude otherwise.

THOUGHTS?

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Anti-Gay?

  1. Ben Dubow

    March 8, 2011 at 5:22 am

    Thanks Kevin<div><br></div><div>I did get your email and will respond when I get a chance… been pretty busy at work.</div><div><br></div><div>I think you and I come at these issues differently. That is okay — I respect that. That is why I believe in a big tent philosophy of UNITY in the ESSENTIALS, DIVERSITY in non-essentials and CHARITY in all things.</div> <div><br></div><div>How people read 7 passages about homosexuality, areas of sexual ethics, etc etc are certainly important to every individual, but are not the kind of essentials that we should allow to divide the church or keep people away.<br> <br></div>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
