RSS

Tikkun Olam

02 Sep

Media_httpbendubowsqu_alpyk

Media_httpbendubowsqu_emkkb

I am preaching again this weekend at Riverfront Family Church. The title of my message is “Tikkun Olam”.  Tikkun olam (תיקון עולם‎) is a Hebrew phrase that means “repairing the world.” In Judaism, the concept of tikkun olam originated in the early rabbinic period and is closely linked to both Messianic hope and the pursuit of shalom.  This week, as Jews across the globe prepare to enter into the “Season of Awe” (Rosh ha Shanah, Yom Kippur, etc), it is good o reflect on this basic human responsibility and privilege.

My passage is Micah 6:1-8 and I am focusing on a very simple idea: as God’s people, we are called to be “repairers of the world” — and this is indeed our proper worship in response to the character and heart of God.

I actually gave this message a few weeks ago at one of the summer services at RFC.  It was a low-attendance Sunday, but the response from people was powerful.  I have been asked to give the same message again this Sunday at their Adult Worship Service (this summer it was at the combined Family Service).

I think this concept is core to both Judaism and what it means to follow Jesus. I am excited to give the message and will post it here on the blog sometime next week.  I would appreciate your prayers and I finish my preparations the next few days.

Plus I would love to see you at RFC on Sunday — 10:30 AM service at 960 Main Street (former G Fox Building) in Hartford.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Tikkun Olam

  1. Cindy

    September 2, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    <p>Thanks so much, I’ll look forward to listening 🙂 Bless you</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
