RSS

The Church & Singles

21 Jun

A ministry friend reminded me yesterday that the church does not handle singles very well.  I didn’t really need to be reminded of that fact, but he raised it as an important issue to discuss — and I agree.

I think the last church I was at did an exceptionally good job of integrating singles into the life of the church. Part of this was demographics (60% under 30 and 60% single). And part of was intentionality from a leadership level (offering dating workshops and seminars, creating a culture where singles were valued and welcomed in leadership, avoiding the “meat market” and other traps of “singles ministry”.

And even then, I know a lot of singles really struggled… especially, I think, older singles (30’s, 40’s, 50’s. 60’s).  

I would love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, and ideas.

What have you seen that works? What doesn’t? If single, what can the church do to better support you? 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “The Church & Singles

  1. Ben D.

    June 21, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    <p>I am generally pro-marriage — in that I think it is a good thing and a sacrament in that in marriage, we experience grace and better learn what love is all about. I have preached that message, lol. But I also believe marriage is a vocation (calling) and not for everyone.</p><p>In my experience, the underlying assumption at most churches is that "normal people eventually get married" so that if you don’t, you are less than normal. I think that is an unfortunate (and unbiblical) perspective.</p><p>BD</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
