RSS

Struggling?

14 Apr

Media_httpiusatodayne_fvadi

I will probably post more about my thoughts about Jennifer Knapp later, but for now this quotation from her interview with Christianity Today really resonated with me:

It never occurred to me that I was in something that should be labeled as a “struggle.” The struggle I’ve had has been with the church, acknowledging me as a human being, trying to live the spiritual life that I’ve been called to, in whatever ramshackled, broken, frustrated way that I’ve always approached my faith. I still consider my hope to be a whole human being, to be a person of love and grace. So it’s difficult for me to say that I’ve struggled within myself, because I haven’t. I’ve struggled with other people. I’ve struggled with what that means in my own faith. I have struggled with how that perception of me will affect the way I feel about myself.

And then this quotation:

The heartbreaking thing to me is that we’re all hopelessly deceived if we don’t think that there are people within our churches, within our communities, who want to hold on to the person they love, whatever sex that may be, and hold on to their faith. It’s a hard notion. It will be a struggle for those who are in a spot that they have to choose between one or the other. The struggle I’ve been through—and I don’t know if I will ever be fully out of it—is feeling like I have to justify my faith or the decisions that I’ve made to choose to love who I choose to love.

It is worth reading the whole article here.

THOUGHTS?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Struggling?

  1. Ben D.

    April 14, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    <p>Thanks Nancy… yes, it can be hard to find a good church that is both open to loving all people and committed to Biblical teaching and spirit-filled… luckily I have found a good one in Hartford :-)</p><p>BD</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
