RSS

Dear Jesus… (again)

21 Mar

Dear Jesus,

You know the longing of my heart — because you put it there. You shaped me and created me as I am. And even when it is hard, I praise you for that. You knit me together in my mother’s womb and I am indeed fearfully and wonderfully made. Even when battered and torn and broken, I am still your masterpiece — for you are the divine artist and all that you touch has beauty and worth.

And so you know the longing of my heart… for significance.

Not for fame or fortune or even to be noticed or affirmed. Not for titles or positions or anything else… but significance. Significance for you and your Kingdom… to make a difference that matters… 

I know my purpose… to worship and love you, to live connected to others in authentic community, to serve the needs of those around me, to have my heart and hands and feet and mind continually transformed to be more like you, and to share in your mission of love and justice for the world.

And maybe that is enough.

So Lord, I surrender to you the need for significance.

I surrender to you my agendas and timelines and notions of success.

I surrender to you everything I am… I am yours.

And I will go where you call me. And I will do so without hesitation. And I pray that I with withhold nothing from you.

And I even surrender the need to be called… to be significant.

I am yours… I am listening… I am waiting… I am ready… 

I AM SURRENDERED.

For your glory alone…

Ben

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Dear Jesus… (again)

  1. Ben D.

    March 21, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    <p>Thanks Kim and Eric… a good reminder and challenge.</p><p>BD</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
