RSS

Manifesto of Freedom

28 Feb

Media_httpbendubowsqu_nfdfd

Friend, mentor and church planter Kit McDermott posted this “Manifesto of True Freedom” on his blog yesterday. It is from a retreat Kit and his wife recently led. I think it is quite powerful — I printed it out for my journal and my Bible… and am re-posting it here.

MANIFESTO OF TRUE FREEDOM

1. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I declare that it is for freedom I have been set free, and I will spend my life learning to live in that freedom. (Gal. 5:1,13)

2. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I choose to stay yoked to Christ as my primary identity. (Mt. 11:28-9)

3. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I choose to surrender more of my heart and seek to become a Jesus-follower. (Mt. 16:24-6;Jn.12:25-6)

4. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I choose to learn to live a life of service no matter my circumstance. (Ro. 12:11)

5. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I declare that the redemptive Kingdom of God will be a primary longing of my heart. (Mt. 6:33)

6. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I seek to fight the good fight of faith and bring pleasure to my Father in heaven, the one in whom I live and move and have my being. (1Tim. 6:12; He.11:6)

7. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I will seek to run my race in order to get the crown, not merely finish. (Phil.3:12-4)

8. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I __________________.

9. By the grace of God, and of my own accord, I __________________.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
