RSS

Church First Impressions #Fail

04 Feb

The clash of worlds can lead to some interesting conversations. As friends from work, school, and old friends/acquaintances from high school/college have connected with me on Facebook, they quickly find this blog and get a sense of my story. While I don’t hide my story (fairly obviously since I am blogging) I also don’t usually lead with “Hi, I’m Ben… a gay, Jewish, evangelical pastor who got Pete Rosed by his church and now am in culinary school…” — kind of an awkward starting point.

But as people discover my story, it leads to some interesting conversations.

One came at work recently…

A woman I work with shared with me her story. She is in her mid-twenties, grew up in a church-going family, and is a lesbian. She has a girlfriend (who she hopes to marry). She told me that a while back they both decided they wanted to go to church. So they chose a church they thought would be good and went one Sunday. While there, the pastor slammed gays in his message repeatedly. Not only did this couple never go back to that church, they haven’t been back to church anywhere at all.

I don’t care what your theology is, if you are a Christ-follower, you have to agree that this is a big time #fail for the church.

Here is someone honestly seeking… looking… interested in Jesus and church. And yet is essentially preached out of the place because of who she is. 

We say that grace is for all… we say that you don’t have to change before you meet Jesus and start following Him… we say Jesus is for everyone. And then we pull this kind of crap.

I think this stuff makes Jesus angry.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Church First Impressions #Fail

  1. Rick Berger

    February 4, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    <p>There is quite a lot in the term ‘the church’. ‘Church’ and ‘a church’ may be better terms. Human nature will naturally stray from a universal experience and to pursue/demand it is folly. What saddens me is that so many universalize from a few/single experience(s). However, placing the term ‘the church’ is to make it, by nature, exclusive since it is within the culture a pluralistic experience. We have choices with our faith and I am comfortable with a group gathering calling itself ‘the church’, collection of the right and righteous, or ‘the only way’ if they like. What I don’t want is them imposing their will upon me or my nation’s social policy. <br>Let the saved journey on their path. I will continue on mine, wrestling my own conscience. I hope that couple and many others continue to wander and wrestle until they find their place.</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
