RSS

My New Year’s Resolutions for 2010

01 Jan

I resolve:

– to not be part of any moral scandals this year…

– to not get kicked out of any churches this coming year…

– to not alienate my faith community and closest friends…

– to never hide in a closet again…

– to not ruin my calling, ministry and life purpose through sin…

And I also resolve:

– to not allow my life to be defined by my sin and failure but by the work of Jesus in my life…

– to faithfully pursue Jesus and his purposes daily…

– to extend unmerited favor (that is, grace) to those around me as God has extended his unmerited favor to me.

– to pray for and seek relational reconciliation on a daily basis… until it happens or Jesus calls me home.

– to find a way to use my gifts and passions to serve the local church and Kingdom of God.

– to continue to learn to like myself while loving God.

– to continue the daily disciplines of submission, obedience, confession, transparency and authenticity.

– to find ways to serve and love the GLBT community — both those who love and follow Jesus and those that do not yet.

– to honor God with my whole being… and that means my sexuality, my life, my gifts, my finances, my time, my dreams and my hopes…

– to move on from 2009 with irrational hope for the future and unwavering faith in God’s plan and purpose for my life.

And mostly I resolve:

– to live my life for an AUDIENCE OF ONE.

 

2009 pretty much sucked for me (that is the theological technical term)… praying and expecting a better 2010.

What are your New Year’s resolutions?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My New Year’s Resolutions for 2010

  1. Bruce

    January 1, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    <p>He asked me…. " Do you really want to know the truth, or do you just want to feel good about what you want to believe?"</p><p>I resolve to the best of my ability by the grace of God:</p><p>-To make my passion and love for Jesus (and hence obedience) more important than any other relationship on this Earth…. that the first commandment would be first above all! And then it would find it’s natural expression in loving and serving others as He does.</p><p>-To love His truth more than my life itself. (He is the Truth, and the Spirit of Truth has come to sanctify us in Truth, which is His Word) That includes a brutal honestly with myself in the light of what He says, and a quick, appropriate response to the revelation of that truth.</p><p>-To speak the truth in His love to whomever He wills, no matter what that looks like or how it is misunderstood, for the sake of the redemption of God’s own possession.</p><p>-To not compromise the light of God for the sake of safety, convenience, selfish means or gains or social acceptability.</p><p>That is a short and of the cuff list… but it hits some of the major points for now….</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
