RSS

Adios!

18 Dec

Birthdays are good times to spend a little time looking back and reflecting, as well as looking forward.

This birthday is one in which I am happy to say adios to 34 and hello to 35.

34 will go down in the books as pretty much the worst year I have had… and that is saying quite a bit (for the record, the previous runner up was 15 — but that is a story for another day, lol).

The first 6 months of 34 were spent working insane hours, financial stress in the church, putting out lots of small fires, living with a ton of pressure and stress at work, and being attacked by “neighbors” (physical) and “neighbors” (spiritual).  The vision was big and it was exciting, stressful and exhausting all at once.

The second 6 months have been pretty much a living hell.  I know that someday I will look back on this period of my life and reflect on the goodness of God, how I grew, etc.  Or at least that’s what I’ve been told.  On faith, I will believe it.

But right now I am thankful to be turning a page, starting a new year, and waiting on God.

Truth be told, I have low expectations for 35.  My goals are simple: finish culinary school, don’t go broke, make some friends, find a church community that will take me and fit with a restaurant/cooking schedule (easier said than done), and figure out the next step after that.

Maybe it is full-time restaurant work, maybe my own catering business, maybe find some partners and open a place, maybe go back and finish m MDiv, maybe a focus back in ministry or consulting or speaking… not sure.  And I don’t need to be sure right now.  So 35 will be a continued year of transition… a Sabbath year of sorts.  Maybe even a Jubilee year.

But either way, it couldn’t be worse than 34… so I am very happy to be 35.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 18, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Adios!

  1. Ben D.

    December 18, 2009 at 3:17 am

    <p>Thanks Bob!</p>

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
