RSS

Mighty to Save: Does that Include Me?

18 Oct

Saturday night I had the chance to go to a worship service at a local church. It was their once-a-month prayer-and-worship service.  It was really nice to be in a corporate worship setting again — those opportunities have been few and far between for me the past 4-5 months.

I was familiar with all the songs we sang (not sure what that says about contemporary worship these days, but so be it).  One of the songs we sang is “Mighty to Save” by Hillsong.  I was taught that song by my friend and worship leader Stephen Barry and I have probably sung it over a hundred times in corporate worship, my car and the shower.  

Saturday night it struck me as if for the first time.

Everyone needs compassion,
Love that’s never failing;
Let mercy fall on me.

Everyone needs forgiveness,
The kindness of a Saviour;
The Hope of nations.

Saviour, He can move the mountains,
My God is Mighty to save,
He is Mighty to save.

Forever, Author of salvation,
He rose and conquered the grave,
Jesus conquered the grave.

So take me as You find me,
All my fears and failures,
Fill my life again…

I know this sounds silly, but as I sang those words I realized that they described my relationship with Jesus too — not just other people’s.  Everyone needs compassion… everyone needs forgiveness… so take me as you find me, all my fears and failures, fill my life again… Mighty to Save!

Now intellectually I KNOW that it is for me, but it so easy for the HEART to forget what the HEAD knows.  It’s not that I think I don’t need it or don’t want it or anything like that.  No.  It’s that for 5 months, so many people have told me that it’s not for me.  

I don’t deserve compassion. 

I don deserve forgiveness.

How He found me, is not good enough.

Sometimes they say it explicitly, usually in an email or letter (rarely to my face). Sometimes it is implied.  Often it is overheard.  Many times it comes in the silence.  Silence speaks volumes.

I didn’t think stuff like that would bother me very much. And I certainly didn’t think that it would effect what I know I believe (head and heart).  But one of my mentors, Bart, warned me about this.  He said it was something I needed to be aware of — something that had probably caused more damage than I realized already.

When you are guilty of an unacceptable sin, you become different.  For many, the same rules don’t apply. I knew that before because of what people would say (when they didn’t know).  I know it now because of what they do say… or worse, their dead silence.

And if I am not careful and do not guard my heart, I begin to believe what so many say — even those who used to call themselves friends.

I don’t deserve compassion. 

I don deserve forgiveness.

How He found me, is not good enough.

But I was reminded Saturday night again, that these words are for me too:

Everyone needs compassion,
Love that’s never failing;
Let mercy fall on me.

Everyone needs forgiveness,
The kindness of a Saviour;
The Hope of nations.

Saviour, He can move the mountains,
My God is Mighty to save,
He is Mighty to save.

Forever, Author of salvation,
He rose and conquered the grave,
Jesus conquered the grave.

So take me as You find me,
All my fears and failures,
Fill my life again…

And even more, these words:

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose… If God is for us, who can be against us? … Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? … No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:28-39)

If you don’t know the song “Mighty to Save”, here is the video:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 18, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
