RSS

Conditioned to Hide

24 Jul

In James 5:16, we are taught: “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.”

Pretty straightforward and pretty powerful.

Yet hard to do.

I don’t know about you, but I am discovering that I have been conditioned to hide pretty much my whole life.  Perhaps this is part of the human condition… it is certainly Adam’s modus operandi in the Garden after he is discovered.  But I also think that we really are conditioned by our culture/community to hide and that it is a discipline to break that mold.

And I think every culture/community has certain issues that are more “conditioned to hiding” than others.  While that might be understandable, it is not healthy.

So these days I am working hard at not hiding.  It is taking a lot of work for me.  It means being more raw and transparent and open about my junk than I used to being.  

It is hard, but it is also necessary.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
